Women's EHF EURO 2008

The 8th Women's EHF European Championship took place in FYR Macedonia from 2 to 14 December 2008. It was the first time an event of this scale was held in the country. The Boris Trajkovski Hall in Skopje was especially built for the event.

Four months after winning gold at the Beijing Olympics, Norway won their third successive EHF EURO title, beating Spain 34:21 in the final. Russia took bronze with a 24:21 victory against Germany.

More than 500 media representatives covered the event which was broadcast in over 58 countries. In particular the official website, www.ehf-euro.com, proved that the EHF EURO is a worldwide event with people from over 145 different countries checking it out.

Final Ranking

1. Norway 5. Romania 9. Sweden 13. Serbia
2. Spain 6. Croatia 10. Ukraine 14. France
3. Russia 7. FYR Macedonia 11. Denmark 15. Austria
4. Germany 8. Hungary 12. Belarus 16. Portugal

All-Star Team

Goalkeeper Katrine Lunde Haraldsen (NOR)
Left wing Valentina Elisei Ardean (ROU)
Left back Tonje Larsen (NOR)
Centre back Kristine Lunde (NOR)
Line player Begona Fernandez (ESP)
Right back Grit Jurack (GER)
Right wing Linn Kristin Riegelhuth (NOR)
Top scorer Linn Kristin Riegelhuth (NOR/51 goals)
MVP Kristine Lunde (NOR)
Best defence player Nadezda Muravyeva (RUS)

Visit eurohandball.com for a full tournament summary including all results and the EHF's Activities website for the tournament's quantitative analysis.


Photo Story: Tattoo time